This is Caroline Kennedy’s introduction to Sen. Ted Kennedy at the Democratic Convention. The idea that Kennedy is my senator really struck me. I have lived in conservative states most of my adult life and most of the time since I have been a lefty. So, I have always felt more represented by Kennedy than by those who have officially represented me in Congress.

Once when talking to a student about being a Democrat, that student asked/stated: “But it is not like you are Ted Kennedy Democrat.” I responded: “Well, I am a liberal, so I must be a Ted Kennedy Democrat.” That shock him and in a way it did me. Kennedy was the devil when I was a conservative in my youth. Now, I agree with him on just about every policy issue. Today, I am proud to be a Ted Kennedy Democrat. Teddy is still my Senator, too.

