In today’s Washington Post, conservative Charles Krauthammer states the following:

“Just as the Depression created the political and psychological conditions for Franklin Roosevelt’s transformation of America from laissez-faireism to the beginnings of the welfare state, the current crisis gives Obama the political space to move the still (relatively) modest American welfare state toward European-style social democracy.”

While Krauthammer is a bit skeptical about this development, I am excited.

For some, and I do not think that Krauthammer fall is this camp, the Europeanization of the American economy is a sign of the end of the world. For me, this is the change that I believe in.

Unfortunately, I am not sure if my dream will actually ever be realized. But today, I will celebrate the possibilities.

